Final_home_background_1_FEB BOX OFFICE small tumblr_lzf556AWse1qh5czz facebook_logo KVTG_Logo_Final_Master_Silver_web

John Applin was a member of KVODS for over 30 years. He took over Chairmanship from Tony Hewitt-Hulin in 1976 and continued in

this position until 1999 whereupon he was appointed Vice President – a position he continued in until his untimely death in March 2000. He was very much a Company man, and thought everyone had a role to play on stage, however small or inconspicuous a part they had from a one-liner cameo, to a member of the chorus.


Indeed he often judged the quality of a show on how well the smaller roles and chorus ensemble performed. He himself undertook a number of these smaller ‘bit parts’ with great relish. To this end, his wife Rose (one of our Vice Presidents) approved KVODS decisions

to implement an award that would capture something of John’s views of shows, and would celebrate some of the work on view in these smaller cameo and chorus roles.

The John Applin Award

The Hewitt-Hulin Award

The Hewitt-Hulin Award is an engraved silver salver, presented annually at the AGM to the person(s) considered to have contributed most to the Society during the preceding 12 months. It is presented in memory of Tony and 'Mitch' Hewitt-Hulin, who both contributed so much to the society. Tony held the position of Chairman of KVODS for 9 years until 1976 and Mitch continued to dedicate her time to KV.


Any acting or non-acting member of the society is eligible for this award, however, members of the General management Committee, including officers, or any person who receives a fee; e.g. producer, M.D., etc..are ineligible.

Our KV Awards are presented annually and in memory of some of KVTG's most dedicated members and contributors.

The John Applin Award

2013  Emma Wallis

2012  Sandi Krause

2011  Josie Piercy

2010  Rachael King

The Karen Wale Award

Elijah Trevitt

Manon Burfield &

Ruby Wilby

Joshua Rose

Chantal Epp

The Hewitt-Hulin Award

2013  Julie Mills      

2011  Helen O’Loughlin

2010  Matthew Stephenson

2009  Richard Roberts

View all winners



20 November 2013 (13) 20 November 2013 (6)